Who’s Who Wednesday–Elizabeth Whalley

Image

Meet: Elizabeth Whalley, Ph.D. Student

1) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

I love that the W provides not only support, but also lots of events and activities to help build community and get people involved. I think it’s really awesome that a resource center can help in times of need, but also be a source of positivity and fun.

 

2) What is your favorite self-care activity?

I have a passionate relationship with Netflix. We’re very close, especially after a hard day. Recently, I’ve begun watching Netflix from the bathtub. It’s a whole new level.

 

3) Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

I’m from Massachusetts and it means EVERYTHING to me. It is, unapologetically, my favorite place in the entire world. I say unapologetically because I realize this does not make me a very worldly type. I’m sure Australia is just fine, but Boston is it. The sports, the history, the ocean, the Sox?  I could go on for days…

 

4) Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

Great question. I would have been in high school a decade ago… I think most important would be to tell myself that there’s no “right” way to do things, and to stop getting caught up in what my life “should” look like. That the important stuff (happiness) comes when you let go of what you should be, and relax into yourself. Stressing about everything is… well, stressful. Relax, Beth! Life can be really good when you take a deep breath, and love yourself more than anything.

 

Bonus Questions: 
1) What movie or food do you love to hate?

I love to hate the movie Spring Breakers. And by that I mean, I love it, but realize it’s incredibly stupid. Most people hate it, and rightfully so. But it’s so deeply funny; it has a deep level of satire that I think is often missed and hard to accomplish. In a way, it’s sort of a feminist Thelma-Louise-esque film. Sort of. Not really. Don’t judge me.

 

Leave a Reply

