Who’s Who Wednesday–Dr. Celeste Montoya

Image

Meet: Dr. Celeste Montoya, Associate Professor

1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

Since I came to CU in Fall 2007, I had been asked to participate in various events and programs for the WRC. A few years ago I became a member of the Advisory Board as the liaison for Women and Gender Studies.

 

2) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

I love the people and the programming. There is such a strong need for the Center and it very clearly served that need. It has been a safe space for so many of my students and a place where they can productively address the various forms of inequality and oppression on campus.

 

3) What is your favorite self-care activity?

Playing with my daughter and running/walking with my dogs.

 

4) Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

I’m a Colorado native. I was born in Colorado Springs and my parents still live there. I have mixed feelings about the Springs. It is a visually beautiful place close to nature and I still have a lot of family that lives there. But it is a place where there is a lot of work that needs to be done in regard to equality and inclusion.

 

5) Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

Have more faith in yourself and your abilities.

 

Bonus Questions:
1) What movie or food do you love to hate?

The Vanishing with Kiefer Sutherland and Jeff Bridges creeps me out.

2) What is an item of clothing that makes you feel great/powerful/fabulous when you wear it? (eg: sweatpants, combat boots, grandmother’s earrings, etc.) 

My hoop earrings fill like an extension of my identity, and I feel lost without them. Wearing one of my colorful scarves always makes me feel good and usually has a fun travel memory attached to it.

Leave a Reply

