Who’s Who Wednesday – Dkeama Alexis

Image

Meet: Dkeama Alexis, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

1) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?  

I love how it’s a women positive space where you can openly discuss feminism and social justice without getting any annoying side-eye from people because let me tell you, the world outside of UMC 416 isn’t quite so understanding in that regard.

2) What is your favorite self-care activity?

Listening to music and trying to memorize or write down the lyrics. Immersing myself in a song clears my mind and keeps me sane, so that’s what I do whenever stress starts to overwhelm me.

3) Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you? 

Home is a small suburban town forty-five minutes outside of Atlanta, Georgia. My parents are still there holding it down, waiting for their daughter to return from the war (read: college). I love them a lot, and they are the largest part of what makes home “home.” This place also means “super cool, awesome, rad peeps” because that’s where all of my best friends will be whenever I go back for breaks. All of those loved ones have managed to keep me grounded from 1400 miles across the country, so it has been reassuring to know that my home awaits me patiently.

Bonus “fun” questions: 
1) What movie or food do you love to hate? 

Marshmallows! They are the actual worst. They make bonfires slightly less fun because everybody’s super excited about making s’mores and I’m just completely disgusted (and hungry because nobody brought anything else to eat…)

2) What is an item of clothing that makes you feel great/powerful/fabulous when you wear it? (eg: sweatpants, combat boots, grandmother’s earrings, etc.) 

I’d say it’s a tie between my gray skinny jeans and my “leather” leggings. They make me feel invincible, mainly because my butt looks amazing when I wear them.

Leave a Reply

