Who’s Who Wednesday – Mone

Meet: Mone Miller, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Mone Miller, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

1)  How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

After doing a feminist project for my Honors Human Diversity course and watching Miss Representation, I decided that I wanted to volunteer there because of the services they provide to the community and the values they represent.

2)  What do you love most about the Women’s Resource Center?

What I love most about the WRC are the diverse programs that are put on throughout the year. I also love the people 🙂

3)  What is your favorite self-care activity?

Although I’m an African-American woman and my hair gets on my last nerve, I still get a thrill when I go get my hair blow-dried at the salon. This activity is frequent.

4)  Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

I’m from Austin, Texas. I lived there all my life until three years ago when I started to attend CU. It means southern hospitality, BBQ, Tex-Mex, rolling hills, humidity and endless music. I will forever be a Texan!

5)  Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

I would have said to believe in myself and to put myself out there more. I’ve only done this recently and while I don’t regret anything, I think I would have been happier if I had done this earlier.

 

Leave a Reply

