Who’s Who Wednesday – Alex

Bear Bud

Meet: Alex Dutro-Maeda, Co-Marketing Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

1)      How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I first came to the Women’s Resource Center when I started going to one of the peer groups, Queer Women in Community. I made friends there and absolutely loved it! When a marketing position opened up, my friend Gabrielle encouraged me to apply, and I’m so glad I did. The past year with the WRC has been an amazing experience, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

2) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

The environment at the WRC is so open and inviting. It’s a safe, fun place to go to work, study, relax or hang out with friends. And of course, the people are the best! It’s great to be able to talk to so many knowledgeable people. Whenever I’m at the WRC, I feel like I’m sitting in the middle of a big force field of social justice energy. It’s my favorite place on campus.

3) Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

I would just tell eleven-year-old Alex that everything is going to be okay. You are allowed to be who you are. Also, moving is not the end of the world, and you’re going to have the best years of your life in Colorado!

Leave a Reply

