Who’s Who Wednesday – Ruvini

Meet: Ruvini DeFonseka, Programs Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Ruvini DeFonseka, Programs Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

1)  How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I transferred here my sophomore year and was unhappy only being at CU for academics (all stress no fun = sad face). I read a Buff Bulletin trying to find out what events were happening on campus and came across a job application for the Co-Marketing position at the WRC. I wanted this job so badly that I read a book on Photoshop and learned how to use it the weekend before the application was due. I wanted to get involved because it seemed like a great way to get involved on campus, find a comfortable support system of women, and learn about social justice issues (topics I am not exposed to as an Integrative Physiology major).

2)  What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

My favorite thing about the WRC is that the people who use our center mold it with their ideas, their conversations, and their personalities. I also appreciate how welcoming the space is whether you are having a stressful day or the best day of your life.

3)  What is your favorite self-care activity?

lavender bubble baths, peppermint foot soaks, and episodes of Avatar Last Airbender.

4)  Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

Home to me is Ft. Collins, CO. To me this place was all about exploring and learning about nature, family, and friendship. This is where I made my first snowman, collected ladybugs in a jar and found out they need oxygen, had Sri Lankan potlucks, and met my best friend.

5)  Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

Ten years ago I was 12 and living overseas with my family in Singapore. This was the first time I was ever exposed to racism, while being old enough to understand it. I would advise myself that, for me, being angry all the time doesn’t bring about change or fix my problems. Now I know that trying to change someone through education doesn’t work if they aren’t willing to listen or don’t want to change. Overall, channeling my energy in productive ways rather than at walls is what I know now.

Leave a Reply

