Who’s Who Wednesday – Becky

Meet: Becky Powell, student volunteer at the Women's Resource Center

Meet: Becky Powell, Student Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center


1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?
I got involved with the WRC when I declared Women and Gender Studies to be my minor. I wanted a way to get involved with women-centered activities on campus in order to understand Women and Gender Studies better, and the WRC has helped me do just that.

2) What is your favorite self-care activity?
My favorite self-care activities vary depending on my level of laziness, but include watching The Brady Bunch or Sabrina the Teenage Witch, going to the gym, and religiously reading articles about animals and how great the 90’s were.

2) Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?
10 years ago, a 12-year-old Becky was finishing up fifth grade and reading Edgar Allen Poe (and, obviously, watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch). I would tell this version of me that I should start realizing NOW what it actually took me about 8 years to realize (and is still in the process): that stress does not help you solve problems and really just makes them bigger. It’s better to just let the things that I can’t control happen, and to stop overthinking.

Leave a Reply

