Who’s Who Wednesday – Meagie

Meet: Meagie Maddock, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Meagie Maddock, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I became involved with the W as a sophomore. I had just declared a Women and Gender Studies major and was so energized by what I was learning in the classroom about feminism and activism, but I hadn’t quite found an outlet for all that excitement. The W and student groups became that outlet, and allowed me to fuel my passion into social change. Volunteering at the W has been a fantastic and incredibly formative experience!

2) What is your favorite self-care activity?

My favorite self-care activity is journaling. I find it really helps me work through stressful times, and I love reading through my old journals to see how I’ve changed, revisit happy memories, and/or be reminded of valuable life lessons.

3) Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

I was born and raised in Colorado, mainly in Littleton. I will always call Colorado home, especially the ranch where my grandparents live in the Rocky Mountain town of Buena Vista. However, studying abroad for one year in Latin America changed the way I define home. For me, home is no longer a place, but a feeling. I plan on finding new homes and revisiting old ones after I graduate in May.

Leave a Reply

