Who’s Who Wednesday – Gabrielle

Meet: Gabrielle Friesen: Co-Marketing Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Gabrielle Friesen, Co-Marketing Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I started going to the WRC’s per group Queer Women in Community in my freshman year after a friend invited me, and it was just such a wonderful, welcoming place among the tumultuous awful that was a lot of freshman year. Then one of the graduating facilitators told me to apply for her old job at the W, and here I am!

2) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

I love how unapologetic it is about its existence, and that I can be unapologetic in its space. If I’m angry about some micro- or macro-aggression against others, or myself I don’t need to censure myself or act like nothing’s wrong, or bite back my anger. At the same time, I think the space is also very reparative and encourages positive feelings and laughter, so it’s both a productive place for anger, and a sanctuary for healing. Additionally, the WRC fosters learning, and is just overall a holistic place, filled with fantastic, genuine people.

3) What is your favorite self-care activity?

Videogames. I’m really bad at self-care and generally just push forward to the point of mental breakdown, but if I manage to catch myself, a couple of hours of ME3 multiplayer, some resource management on XCOM: Enemy Unknown,  or the Deep Roads section of DA:O are the most cathartic thing for me.

I also love to go on walks, but I sunburn within five minutes of being outdoors, so, y’know.

Leave a Reply

