Who’s Who Wednesday – Jess C.

Meet: Jessica Carney, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Jessica Carney, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

Ever since I took my first Women and Gender Studies class at CU my freshman year I have been passionate about improving the status of women identified people. Working as an RA my sophomore year, I was confronted with different challenges that my residents were facing, many of them focused around their gender identity. I came to the WRC to get some resources to pass on to my residents, and decided I really liked it here. Now I’m a volunteer and I love it.

2) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

It’s wonderful to have a women-centered space on campus where people can come to talk and learn about important issues around gender identity. I’ve also been really enjoying the abundance of tea here.

3) What is your favorite self-care activity?

I have been learning to cook over the last 2 months, and while it can be very stressful (smoke alarms, burnt quinoa, cardboard-textured cookies, etc.), I am finding it oddly therapeutic. When cooking stresses me out more than easing my mind, I like to go on walks by myself or have long talks with my little sister.

Leave a Reply

