Who’s Who Wednesday – Sophia

Meet: Sophia Surage, Co-Outreach Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Sophia Surage, Co-Outreach Coordinator at the Women’s Resource Center

1)   How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I got involved with the Women’s Resource Center through my previous job as a Diversity Mentor in Hallett Hall’s Social Justice/Spectrum Program, and through my current co-worker and friend Renee Roberts.

2)   What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

I love most things about the Women’s Resource Center but my favorite thing about the WRC is how safe and open it is. I love being able to talk about things in my life with other people who are developing their feminist consciousness. Talking about personal experiences is so freeing in the WRC because it is welcomed rather than silenced, dismissed, and/or shamed as in most spaces.

3)   What is your favorite self-care activity?

My favorite self-care activity is probably dancing and working out or taking a bath. Sometimes self care for me means having some alone time and privacy and at other times it means spending quality time with people who love and support me.

4)   Where are you from/where do you call home? What does this place mean to you?

I am from Colorado Springs where I spent my childhood. Like a lot of people, I have a sort of love-hate relationship with my hometown. While I will always feel an inexplicable pull towards the landscapes, buildings, streets, and people who shaped my early experiences, I will always distance myself from the political environment that is connected to Colorado Springs.

5)   Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

Advice that I would give to my eleven-year-old self would be to focus on the things that I can control instead of wasting precious time and energy on everything that I can’t. I would tell myself to read more books and keep to myself instead of trying to make friends with people who are clearly very limited in how they could help me grow.

Leave a Reply

