Who’s Who Wednesday – Lima

Meet: Lima Islamzai, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

Meet: Lima Esslam, Volunteer at the Women’s Resource Center

1)   How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I heard about Women`s Resource Center from a friend who volunteers. She told me how awesome and active the program was and so I joined in as a volunteer.

2) What do you like most about the Women’s Resource Center?

I love being Women`s Resource Center. It`s a nice place to chill at and everyone is so nice and friendly! I like everything about W but one thing I really like is the events we set up almost every other week. It is a good way to know about or be aware of issues taking place in our society.

3) Where are you from/where do you call home and what does this place mean to you?

I am from Kabul, Afghanistan. That is the place/country I call home. Even though I did not grow up there, but I have visited back and I am planning on working there in future, hopefully! I am planning on working with non-profit organizations and helping women and young girls to further their education. My family, friends and any other individual who gets to know about this asks me if I am afraid because it is dangerous there, specially to stand up for women. The only response I have for them is: One way or another we all die, so why not do something for people we care about. If I stand today for what I believe is right, for being only one, then there will be more than a dozen in future whom no one will be able to even point their finger at!

Leave a Reply

