Who’s Who Wednesday – Hannah

This week we want to introduce you to:

Hannah WilksAssociate Director of the Women’s Resource Center

Hannah Wilks
Associate Director of the Women’s Resource Center

1) How did you get involved with the Women’s Resource Center?

I got involved with the WRC because I desperately needed a job.  I was
painting houses at the time to pay off some debt and saw an opening for a
Program Assistant position.  I was involved in the Women’s Center at the
Univ. of Northern Colorado where I did my undergraduate work and loved the
community and feminist leadership and direction I received there.  I
applied and WON! I say win because working at the WRC for the past 5 years
really feels like I won a feminist lottery.  I get to interact with
amazing students and staff across campus. I get to be an unapologetic
feminist every day. I also get to expand my knowledge and definitions of
feminist thought, social justice, and intersectionality because I work at
a place that holds those values very dear.  In 2011 I got promoted to
Associate Director and the WRC has continued to be a supportive place
where I feel like I really get to be myself.
2) Where are you from/where do you call home?

I grew up in Eastern Colorado, Burlington to be exact. I got to grow up on
a farm with tons of animals, crazy 4 wheeling adventures, and a small
community that is still very important to me.  I still have friends that I
met in 1st grade, and I get to go back often to visit my family.  There
isn’t a better feeling to me than when I’m driving back to Burlington and
I pass Limon and all I see is flat land and wheat fields.  It is a sight
that most think is too plain and boring, but for me it feels like home.

3) Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give yourself 10 years ago?

If I could give my younger self some advice I would say: 1. You are not a
bitch for standing up for yourself, and if people call you that it is
because they are threatened by a girl who knows what she wants. 2. Stop
comparing yourself to your friends, you need to always be who you are, it
takes a lifetime to figure that out, but comparing yourself to those who
will never be you, won’t help you, ever. 3. Lots of people have your back,
there is a whole community of women who will stand up for what you believe
in so I hope you never feel like you’re the only one who feels that way.

Leave a Reply

