Can 1 Person Really Change Your Life?

-By Morgan Aguilar, student staff

I hadn’t realized it until now, but 7 years ago, 1 person dramatically changed the way my life ended up. Had it not been for this person, I may have not been as concerned with getting good grades in high school. I might have never thought about working hard so that I could attend an out-of-state University. Had I never been made aware of this person’s existence, there is a huge chance I would not have ended up at the University of Colorado, become an active feminist, and be on my way to a career field I am passionate and excited about.

Her name is Stephanie Vigil, and she is a news anchor for KHQ-TV, the NBC affiliate in Spokane, Washington. I was in 8th grade the first time I realized she was one of the only women on TV who looked like me and was not a maid or could barely speak English. She was a Hispanic woman with a Hispanic last name just like me, and she had power. She was intelligent, articulate and a leader of an entire news station and city. I had to meet her.

3 encounters later, I have finally had the chance to not only meet but also work alongside as an intern with Vigil. In 8th grade my dad set up a job shadow day for me, and I was enamored as she showed me the newsroom and I got to watch a live newscast both from the control room and standing right behind the camera as she read the teleprompter. I knew this was the field for me, even back then, and I couldn’t stay away. I came back to KHQ when it was time for my senior project to graduate from high school, and once again job shadowed and interviewed Vigil. I had already been accepted to the University of Colorado and declared a Pre-Journalism major.

Once at CU, I was accepted into the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and officially became a broadcast news major. When confronted with the question of where I might want to pursue an internship, KHQ was the only thing that came to mind. I actually had a desk right across from Stephanie Vigil for an entire summer. I wrote copy for what ended up being the other news anchor, but I didn’t mind. The point was that I had done it. I had worked hard, educated myself, and become good enough in the field to be sitting right beside her.

Looking back now, I have no idea what subject I might have wanted to study in college had it now been for Vigil. It wasn’t that I had always wanted to do something on TV, or been extremely interested in journalism before I began to look up to her. I was just any other 8th grader, playing sports and learning how to flirt when BAM! I had chosen my career path. The fact that I then began following the news, practicing my writing and then applying to one of the top Journalism schools in the country came as a direct result of one person sparking the idea in my mind that this was something I too could achieve. And I will. And when I do, I will do it with the knowledge that there might be one other Hispanic female out there watching me, just trying to figure out where she will fit into this world

Leave a Reply

